Finance Department officials to seat in Parliament to resolve GST issues from 27 july: H P Chaudhary, Minister of State for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

17 July, 2017


5 Finance Department officials will be seated in Parliament to resolve GST issues from 27 July 2017. This was revealed by the Minister of State for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises – Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary. The Minister was speaking at ASSOCHAM’s 11th International SEZ and Industrial Park Summit in New Delhi.  The minister also mentioned that in a few years India would emerge as a major arms exporter.

Addressing the gathering, MP and the Member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Industry – Rabindra Kumar Jena stated that the Indian MSME sector faces a massive shortfall in the flow of credit. The Parliamentarian added that India should not neglect the MSME sector. 

Also, present on the occasion was the Development Commissioner, Noida SEZ, and Other SEZs, Northern Region – Dr. L. B. Singhal who spoke of the growth of SEZs in the last decade. In view of several export promotion schemes and the exemptions provided by Customs and IGST, India has become attractive for investment in SEZs, he mentioned.

The conference also witnessed the felicitation of the best performers in SEZs across three categories:  the Vibrant and Fastest Growing Industrial Park in India; the Highest Employment Provider among Services SEZs; and the Best Business Model of SEZ Based Material Management Services. 

The technical sessions focused on issues such as Policy Perspective, Tax Issues, and Impact of GST; Investment Opportunities and Challenges in Industrial Parks and SEZs: Sharing of Global Experiences and Future. 

Prominent dignitaries that graced the occasion included the Vice Chairman, General Authority for SUEZ Canal Economic Zone, Egypt – Admiral Abd El Kader Darwish; Executive Chairman, Bangladesh Export Processing Zones Authority – Major General Mohd Habibur Rahman Khan; Chairman of the Export Promotion Council for EOUs and SEZs – Rahul Gupta;Managing Director of Oil Field Warehouse and Services Ltd. – Vinay Sharma; President of Sri City Pvt Ltd – Ramesh Subramaniam; Additional Secretary, Government of India – Arvind Kumar; President  ASSOCHAM – Sandeep Jajodia; Secretary General, ASSOCHAM – D. S. Rawat and Co- Chairman of  SEZ Council, ASSOCHAM – Hitender Mehta, besides others.