₹ 18000 cr approved for high speed railway corridors: Suresh Prabhu, Union Minister for Railways

17 July, 2017


The Government has approved Rs 18000 cr for high-speed railway corridors from Delhi to Mumbai and Delhi to Kolkata. This was said by the Union Minister for Railways – Suresh Prabhu at ASSOCHAM’s International Conference “Railtech – 2017: Advanced Rail Technology for India” in New Delhi. The minister also spoke of the potential savings due to the introduction of ERP in Railways.

Addressing the gathering the Ambassador of France to India, His Excellency – Alexandre Ziegler observed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the President of France Emmanuel Macron had agreed to further cooperation in developing the railway network. He also identified some aspects that the partnership would focus on.

Also, present on the occasion was Member(Traction), Ministry of Railways – Ghanshyam Singh who revealed that by 2021, 90% of the railway network will be electrified. Mr. Singh also urged the Industry to step up its support to the government’s Make in India campaign.

The conference also witnessed several technical Sessions on issues such as Advanced Technologies in Indian Railways – Policy Support, Industry Experience Issues and the Way Forward; Technology Up Gradation Missions of Indian Railways, State of Art Technology– Issues and Challenges; Modernization of Rolling Stock, Tracks, Signaling and Telecommunications, Passenger Safety, Amenities, and Make In India Policy: The Future Directions.
Prominent dignitaries that participated in the conference included Director General, Signaling and Telecommunications, Ministry of Railways – Akhil Agarwal; Director General, Railway Stores, Ministry of Railways – A. K. Goel; Advisor, Mobility, Ministry of Railways – Naveen Kumar Shukla; Managing Director, Resurgent India Ltd - Jyoti Prakash Gadia; President of ASSOCHAM – Sandeep Jajodia; Secretary General of ASSOCHAM – D. S. Rawat and Chairman, ASSOCHAM National Rail Transport Council – Dr. A. K. Aggarwal, besides several senior Government officials and Industry Experts.